My Good Deed of the Week

While walking to my office talking on the phone to my wife I heard a crunch from behind me. It sounded a bit odd, but when I glanced behind me I didn’t see anything weird, so I continued on my way. However, since I wasn’t done talking to my wife by the time I got to my building I turned around and headed back. I walked back to see two women staring at a motorcycle, I couldn’t exactly make out what they were saying but it sounded to me as if they backed into it. I looked at it as I walked by but didn’t see anything.

Then I noticed they got in the car with out leaving a note. In a fit of just in case I decided to snap a picture of the plate as they drove off. I then decided to take a closer look at the bike and sure enough the rearset was completely busted.

I left a note and my business card on the bike letting the owner know that I had a picture of the plate and to contact me.

Sure enough an hour later he contacted me and I gave him a copy of the photo. Later I spoke to the police telling them what I saw and heard, while not enough to accuse them of hit and run it was enough for them to help the owner of the motorcycle track them down. Luckily the owner of the car decided to exchanging insurance information was the right thing to do.

Who knows what would have happened had I not gotten the photo, I’m just glad I was there and could help a fellow motorcyclist out.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

