Time for a New Roadcrafter

I got my aerostich early 2008, since then I’ve ridden easily over 100,000 miles in it. I have other gear, I almost never wear it. The Roadcrafter is just too easy to wear and is generally more comfortable than other options. Which means I wear it on average five times a week. Which means I’ve worn it for over 2,000 rides (or twice that if you count going to and from work).

It’s weathered a couple of minor incidents with the pavement with no complaint, and when I really needed it in 2010 it did it’s job, keeping my skin intact and leaving me with only impact injuries.

The miles have taken their toll though. The only good thing is that I look like I’ve ridden tons of miles since the suit is nicely faded. The red ballistics are now pinkish and orange. However, it’s showing it’s age in some less cool ways. The stitching in some areas is beginning to come out and the fabric is worn in many high use areas. I’ve had to replace the zipper pulls on the main zipper two or three times, and the leg zipper at least once. They just wear out with daily use. The snap on the cuff of the right leg finally gave up a month ago.

Snap is done, and it’s definitely looking a bit ratty.

I’ve been talking about getting a new suit for ages, and as silly as it might sound the snap breaking was something of the last straw.

A new suit would be nice for many reasons. It will fit better for one, I’ve lost about 20lbs or so since I got the first one and I ordered it with hip pads which needed extra room to make fit. Those hip pads though were super annoying though, so I haven’t used them in years, without them in the suit is very baggy. A new suit would also be more waterproof, not only have they improved the design, the Gore-Tex and waterproofing have simply aged to the point that it just doesn’t shed water like it used to.

With all that being said, I have decided to actually get a new Roadcrafter Suit. I bit the bullet and ordered a new Aerostich R3. I went for a more durable and classic look with black on black. Not the most visible but what can I say I’m a slave to fashion.

Ordering a custom suit is a bit of a process, once I’m all done and get the new suit I’ll post pictures of it and talk about how it went.

The scuff mark from my crash in January.

The stitching is going and the fabric is wearing out.

 

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear, Motocycling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time for a New Roadcrafter

  1. MotoADVR says:

    I’ve been debating a stitch for some time now. I’m only concerned about how it will hold up to ADV riding.

    • MotoCynic says:

      I’m pretty sure it would hold up fine, my BMW GS friend put tons of miles on his on all sorts of road.
      Anything in particular you’re worried about?

      • MotoADVR says:

        Destroying a $1000 riding suit on rocks, or suffering heat exhaustion as a result of how little it breathes.

      • MotoCynic says:

        It actually breathes pretty well. In the winter I actually have to bundle up a lot to keep warm. Though this does require speed. As far as crash damage. Sadly I can testify as to its durability. Plus repairs are an option if you do damage it.

  2. TopMotoJack says:

    Good call on the Aerostich R3, I’ve heard good things, espcially when it comes to the ventilation. A little pricey for my tastes, but I look forward to seeing the pics.

Leave a Reply

