How to Kill a Cell Phone

I’m constantly wrecking my nice things in an effort to hopefully save my readers from doing the same. A few months ago it was my new motorcycle, this time it’s my cell phone.

While it really isn’t news that water will kill most electronics, especially cell phones, it is unexpected when said cellphone is in what should be a waterproof case.  Admittedly a waterproof case that had already lived a hard year, and I knew was leaking just a little…

Apparently the little was enough, as my phone died on me halfway through my workday.

The lesson? Obviously is to make sure that if you are using a RAM mount or any other mount for your cellphone is to make sure you have it in a working waterproof case.

For the record, I’ve been using Lifeproof cases for my phones. I’m very prone to dropping my phone and it keeps it safe though after about a year the corners are shredded and it’s time for a new case.

I just need to replace it before it leaks and means I need a new phone as well as a new case.

Live and learn… Hopefully I’ve saved you a painful lesson as well.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

