How I Rode 100,000 Miles on a Ducati Monster

Looking back it’s crazy. 100k on a naked motorcycle? Who does that and how?

The who in this case is easy, I did it.

The how is maybe a bit more complicated. It breaks down into two parts, how I managed to put that many miles on what isn’t an ideal machine for distance, and how/where those miles got ridden.

Of course many motorcyclists know that the biggest secret to riding a lot, is loving to ride and being able to put up with a little discomfort. The other part of riding a lot is making that discomfort stay little. Which makes the real star of all my miles ridden the Sergeant Seat, which I got shortly after the first time I rode a long trip on the stock seat.  The one other thing is the handle bar risers, getting the riding position just a little more upright. Between those two and I was fine on the bike all day long. The rest as they say is history.

So 105,000 miles, where did they all come from?

This is the current Dash, taken on Monday. The original dash died at 38k. Together that’s a lot of miles.

I’ll start with some basic math. Minus the 2 years lost to riding the BMW means I rode the FrankenMonster eight years, which means about 13,000 miles a year. Most of those miles were commuting to work, and while that sounds pretty boring, we all know that riding a motorcycle is never boring. My commute is also pretty good. Highway 280 is known as the most beautiful freeway in the world. I’m not sure about that, but it is really nice for a freeway. The scenic nature of the Freeway does make my commute more tolerable. For most of the eight years on the Monster it was a 54 mile round trip. Which would be more than 13k a year if I rode to work everyday. Luckily I do have five weeks of vacation of year and sometimes I was weak and I would drive to work (especially if I was sick or it was pouring rain).

While commuting was most of the miles, I also did a lot of touring on the bike. Some just a couple of days, while others were longer. I rode to Portland three times, down to LA at least three or four times, plus several other long trips to nowhere and back just as long as there were good roads between here and there.

So while commuting was the bread and butter of my miles, the rest of them where going places and seeing amazing things. I’ve seen more of California in the last 10 years than I would have thought possible.

The bike held up pretty well mechanically, we did have an issue with the stator, and then the TPS sensor dying on me.  I did replace the engine when the clutch started slipping at about 75,000 miles. Mainly because I wanted longer service intervals and some more grunt. That ended too soon when my chain master link came apart and cracked the case. That’s when it really became the Franken Monster.

Now though it’s moved on. It’s with a new rider who loves it nearly as much as I did. He’s already put another 5,000 miles on it and has hopes of doing even more

https://motocynic.wordpress.com/2012/06/22/fifty-thousand-miles/

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Ducati Monster 620, ducati monster 695, FrankenMonster 695, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How I Rode 100,000 Miles on a Ducati Monster

  1. zed14 says:

    I always like seeing a bike with high miles – it shows a riders who loves riding and not just being seen at the local hangout.

  2. MotoADVR says:

    That is indeed the secret, you just ride. No excuses to not ride, you just ride. I also believe that commuting is the fastest way to pile on miles. Long trips boost annual numbers, but by and large most miles are just commuting to work or running errands. It’s the short trips that nickel and dime and add up. Well done sir!

  3. Marianne Guarena says:

    How do you have a functioning spine left?? That’s triple f tough. Not sure how you did that haha. I can’t do a few hours on a sportbike on the street anymore. My R6 especially. I feel like my wrists are going to fall off. My SO just bought me some clip-ons with risers. Hopefully that helps. And then when I take my WR, my butt hurts after 4 hours but still better than any of my sportbikes. I am glad the Franken Monster found a new home : ) Did you find it difficult to give up?

    • MotoCynic says:

      The handle bar risers helped a bit, but like I said the real star is the Sargeant Seat. It’s much wider and supports your whole butt which means no hot spots.
      The suspension is a bit rough, and bumpy roads were no fun.

      I most definitely had trouble giving her up, but she found a good home with someone I still ride with so I get to see her often.

  4. savagemoto says:

    That is impressive! Got a lot of respect for riders who ride a lot. Nothing worse than bikers who put on 3 miles between MOTs.

Leave a Reply

