Three Riding Modes on the Ducati Hyperstrada

The Hyperstrada is a modern motorcycle. Digital Dash, Ride by Wire, ABS brakes, Traction control and a Choice of Engine Maps are all part of your average motorcycle these days. All of which I’m reasonably happy with. I’ve spoken at length in the past on how important I think ABS is, so I won’t waste anymore words now on that. I do want to talk about the riding modes (engine maps) that my Ducati Hyperstrada comes with.

Ducati names them on the bike Urban, Touring and Sport. In my head I have different names for them. I think of them as Rain, Normal and Speeding Tickets.

Urban (Rain) is pretty much just good for riding in the rain. I did use it for almost the first 100 miles I rode the bike, but the reduced power and throttle response is a bit annoying once you’re used to what the bike can normally do. Which means since then I’ve spent nearly all of my time riding in the dry in Normal.

Touring (Normal) is all the power, with a softer throttle response, it’s great. Fast enough for anyone whose never had more than 75 Horsepower available before. I’ve done thousands of miles in Touring mode with a grin on my face.


Sport Mode (Speeding Tickets) hasn’t been used much. I did buy the motorcycle in November, right before California had the wettest winter since I started riding a motorcycle. Leaving me limited opportunities to test out the mode that had “abrupt” throttle response compared to the other riding modes. Giving you all the power your traction can handle, or more if you decided to turn off the already lowered setting of traction control. However, last weekend on the way home from getting my oil changed I accidently ended up in the menu for selecting riding mode options, and I decided what the hell, it’s dry let’s see what this sport thing is really about.

Holy Crap.

It’s… SO.  MUCH.  FUN.

I thought the bike did a decent 0-stupid fast in touring mode. It now does it faster. Which is why in a rare moment in between whoops of joy in my helmet I decided to name it Speeding Ticket. So maybe, just maybe I’ll remember to take it easy, and in the process keep my license.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Hyperstrada, Life, Motocycling, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three Riding Modes on the Ducati Hyperstrada

  1. zed14 says:

    And welcome to the world of full power.! The ZX14R has 2 modes full power and some other mode with less power blah blah blah… I may have to try it one day … no probably not.

Leave a Reply

