Brotherhood of Motorcyclists?

A few weeks ago I was side swiped by a reckless rider. He was riding in the shoulder or lane splitting at such high speeds that I didn’t see him when I checked my mirrors a few seconds before we collided.

I was too busy not crashing to realize what happened right away, but I quickly realized that the black shape that flew past my face was my left mirror. Unfortunately by the time I put it together the other motorcyclist was speeding away. Initially I was glad he wasn’t hurt, and that neither of us had crashed in heavy traffic, however he just broke my motorcycle and took off…

Not very brotherly. At first I just assumed that he didn’t know what he’d done and I thought that maybe if I caught up and honked at him and flashed my lights he might pull over.

Nope.

He just sped up, now lane splitting past nearly stopped traffic at near or above the posted speed limit. I really wanted get my mirror paid for, but not at the risk of my life. I slowed down and let him go, he was riding the bike like he stole it, which who knows maybe that’s what was going on.

So I’m replacing my left mirror for the second time in six months. Let’s hope it’s the last time.

Overall I was pretty disappointed in this guy, it’s one thing to be taken out by those idiots texting and driving, but it is especially sad to be hurt and have my bike broken by someone who should have known better and was “one of my own”. I know it is silly to think that this guy would give more of a crap about me just because of the way we like to get from point A to point B. I’m just another face in the masses to him.

Hell, he probably doesn’t wave to other motorcyclists either.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Hyperstrada, Life, Motocycling, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brotherhood of Motorcyclists?

  1. MotoADVR says:

    I have no doubt that my “spirited” riding during the morning commute is met with a fair amount of grumblings from drivers that were otherwise “disengaged” in their tiresome morning routine. That said, I full well recognize that I shoulder the majority (if not all) of the risk in the event that I surpass the speed limit or begin changing lanes posthaste. That is unfortunately the disconnect I find in some urban or tourist locales. In general I find great irritation with vehicles with no regard for other travelers on the road; not only “speeders”, but also those who are traveling significantly under the speed limit or are otherwise obstructing the natural flow of traffic. Long story short, I understand being in a hurry, but that dude’s an ***hole to simply running off after passing in close proximity without warning.

Leave a Reply

