9000 Miles: Time to Change the Oil?

Well it’s been six months and 9000 miles of Hyperstrada ownership. It’s been fun so far, despite the fact that I pulled my usual “crash your new motorcycle” trick again.

Everyone knows Ducati’s are maintenance intensive and sure enough after only 9000 miles I have to do some maintenance.

I have to change the oil.

That’s not all though, Ducati recommends that I change the spark plugs and clean out the air filter as well (and some other basic maintenance). Which sounds pretty simple considering that on my Monster, I’d done one valve service already and be halfway to my next one.

To some 9000 miles between oil changes on a motorcycle seems like a lot so I decided that I would take a sample at 5000 miles and send it to the good folks at Blackstone Labs and see what they thought. Well they thought it looked good and to keep going, so I did.

With another 4000 miles on the bike I sent them another sample. This time they thought I should change it. Just like Ducati told me to.  I’ll send them another sample at halfway again and see what things look like otherwise, Ducati thinks I’m good for another 9000 miles.

Should be a good summer.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Hyperstrada, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 9000 Miles: Time to Change the Oil?

  1. I have to get out of my change the oil every 2500 mile mindset.

Leave a Reply

