Spring Trip 2017: The Northern Half

If there is one thing I learned on this trip is that it takes a lot longer to get places as a group of motorcyclists of four or more. I haven’t noticed any slow down when there are just three riders, with three it’s a bit slower, but I still tend to make decent time getting places when I ride with just a couple of other people. Four or Five though… things slow down, well at least they did for us.

My grandiose plans for a long ride up died somewhere along Highway One between Stinson Beach and Point Reyes Station. Until then I was still hopeful, but we weren’t making good enough time and I couldn’t leave my wife and ride off by myself when there was rain in the forecast that night. I’m not one to let my wife put up our tent by herself.

So we charged up the coast as fast as we were able, with Sunday Drivers and our small bladders thwarting any chance of making decent time. Let’s just say there were many obstacles to overcome. Throughout the day we had wallets fall off motorcycles in the middle of four lane freeways, near crashes, and temperatures never above 60 degrees Fahrenheit. However, lest you think it was all pain and near death experiences there were some highlights. Including my wife humming to herself and through the intercom as she zipped through corners, gorgeous blue skies and ocean views all morning long, and the general camaraderie that comes with hanging out on motorcycles with your favorite people in the world.


The wife’s stamina for riding in the cold did slow us down toward the end of the day. I waved the boys on and we made our way slightly slower to camp. The last few miles through a sprinkling of cold rain.

Luckily I have amazing friend and parents and they had set up our tent for us and despite the need for creative waterproofing we all had a warm and dry place to sleep that night.

I had even more insane plans for our ride the next day. This time I ruined it all by not sleeping well at all. I should have known that sleeping the the pouring rain in a tent wasn’t the best way to get a goodnights sleep. I overslept and everyone else was too kind to wake me up. So instead of riding up 96 we just headed out on Highway 36. It was lovely weather, the best we would have in the short time we were up there.


The day was much less event filled than the previous, not lost wallets or near crashes. Just a guys going fast on motorcycles on twisty roads. There were amazing views and surprisingly very little water and gravel.

That night was another great night of sitting around a campfire and just hanging out after a pretty fun meal of campfire pizza rolls.

With rain in the forecast for all of Tuesday we decided that we would take a day off from riding. It had been a couple of long days and no one really wanted to ride in the wet and cold. Instead we went hiking and relaxed. That night we went all out for dinner with steaks and cobbler with potatoes and vegetable kabobs. Makes me hungry just thinking about it.


That night in a break from the rain as we sat around the fire checking the forecast for the next few days we decided that with rain coming mid morning the next day and continuing for the day after that we should probably leave and get home while we had somewhat dry roads.

With this being the plan we got up early and were packed up and on the road by eight am. Then began the race home. My poor wife once again suffering in the cold and wet, which luckily let up as we worked our way south. In Santa Rosa we decided to split up the group, the boys heading west to the ocean and some more fun roads, while I stayed with my wife and made quick time getting home.


There is nothing better than a long hot shower after getting home from being in the wet and cold for three days. It was great to sit around the dining room table with everyone after we were all warmed and clean chatting over our adventures.

Of course we still had several more days of vacation planned and now that we were several hundred miles south the chance of rain was much less. With that in mind we started planning another ride.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, FrankenMonster 695, Hyperstrada, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, New Rider, Photos, Riding and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring Trip 2017: The Northern Half

  1. There is something about riding in cold clear air

  2. Peggy Padelt says:

    Chivalry is not dead. Your a good man Scott
    Peggy

Leave a Reply

