MotoCynic on: How to Crash a New Motorcycle

As part of being a comprehensive blog I bring you my latest “How To”.

This one will be on how to crash your brand new motorcycle.

Now while not a sought after skill, it is something that some might find useful.

While I’m sure there are many ways that one could go about this, I can only accurately post on how I do it. Without fail I typically crash a new motorcycle within a few months of ownership. I guess it’s just something that I just need to do.

Enough of the emotional blah blah blah, let’s get down to it.

How do you crash a new motorcycle?

Turns out how you crash any motorcycle. In this case, going to fast for the road conditions. For the sake of being comprehensive I have lots of pictures that break it down. If you read the captions I’ll walk you through it.

Here’s the corner that did me in. In good conditions it’s a 20-25mph hairpin.

The bike came to a rest in the ditch about 10 feet from the first tree on the right.

I found these scratch marks on the pavement pointing at the end spot. So I began to follow them.

These are where they lead and are the deepest, where the bike first hit the ground. That is the center line there. I remember wobbling for a split second while I fought to regain control, for a short bit I thought I could save it.

You can clearly see the scratches. I ended up where they point, just behind the bicyclist.

At first I assumed it was the damp that caused the crash. These pictures are the next day (or the day after?) So road was a bit wetter.

Then I turned around and saw this… It’s as bad or worse than it looks. It’s a bumpy gravely mess, that was not nearly that bad a couple of weeks before, but with all the rain it was made into this.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Hyperstrada, Life, Motocycling, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MotoCynic on: How to Crash a New Motorcycle

  1. rjbuxton says:

    I think one of the reasons I don’t corner so fast is that I worry about the road surfaces. The bike I have now doesn’t actually put a foot wrong but my previous bike was a heavyweight that sapped my confidence.

Leave a Reply

