Getting Back on the Motorcycle

I crashed the new motorcycle a couple of weeks ago, and while I’m still healing from the bumps and the bike still doesn’t have a left mirror that hasn’t stopped me from riding.

I was back on the bike a couple of days later and riding as much as the extremely wet winter we’re having here in California will allow. I find it important to get back on the bike as soon as possible after a crash. Your confidence has already taken a big hit and letting it fester and letting your mind possibly make it worse isn’t a good idea.

The one thing I haven’t been good at getting back to is writing. Between the crash and some other things in my life I just haven’t had the time or the energy to get words out of my head and onto the page/screen.

My temporary fix for my gear shifter. I had to drill out the broken bit of the old one and then replaced it with the bolt and nuts you see in the photo.

Hopefully this post will be the first of many as I catch everyone up on my motorcycle adventures, the planning of my Spring Trip, and all the other nonsense you come to my blog to read!

 

 

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Hyperstrada, Life, Motocycling, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting Back on the Motorcycle

  1. I have found in the dark days of my life, I normally have lost the motivation to write. I am not saying your going through dark days, just sharing my thoughts :).
    I found that more then anything else, writing helped me more through the tough times then anything else. There is something real and therapeutic about writing that lifts the soul.

    So yes getting back on that bike is important, but I would venture to say that writing more is just as important.

    We don’t know each other, we don’t ride the same style bikes, we don’t live in the same region of the country but I have been reading your blog for a long while. Riding is who we are and what we do. Ride Like You Stole IT!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Well done for getting back on the bike. I recently had an off while touring down in Tasmania. Nothing too serious. Patched the bike up and finished the 10 day tour

Leave a Reply

