Rough Week

I’ve had a tough time finding time to write lately, work has been hectic and the time just seems to disappear. With how tired I’ve been lately I should have known better and not have taken the long way home on Wednesday. Certainly not with how much mud and water are out there this time of year.

The new bike is definitely “broken” in.

It’s a bit rough on this is now.

Some detail on the damage.

My temporary fix for the shift lever.

My temporary fix for the shift lever.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Hyperstrada, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rough Week

  1. MotoADVR says:

    Wow man, really sorry to “see” that. Hopefully you’re good to go, the bike can obviously be fixed (you might even get some “bits” in the process!).

  2. Ry Austin says:

    It’s good that you’re okay, but damage to a new bike is never an easy thing to swallow.

    A week or two after I bought my F800GS back in 2009, I went down on it on a remote dirt road. The right pannier got launched, and its immobilizer mangled; and the bike’s right side got all scratched up, and its front fender cracked. Thankfully, besides a bloody nose, a banged-up knee, and severely wounded pride, I was okay.

    On my next visit to the dealership, I related the experience to my salesman and, he said, “Great! You’ve gone down on your new bike and scratched it up a bit—you no longer have to worry about that. Now on you can go out and really enjoy it”.

    So, I repaired what I easily could, and to embrace my shame as pride, I slapped a few vinyl band-aid stickers on the crack and the dents. That spill is ancient history now, just part of my greater motorcycling story.

  3. Your safety is the key and once we know your OK then we worry about the bike. Personally I like a bike with a little character. I am not nor never will be a perfect cycle guy. I like my with a bit of wear and tear on her. Here is to you fixing it up to your liking.

  4. I’d really like to “like” this post. But that wouldn’t be right.

    Glad that you’re OK. The bike will scrub up and besides, nows your chance to put that termignoni on it you’ve always wanted.

    Shhh, I know the damage is on the other side. Work with me here 😆

  5. motoventures says:

    Sorry to hear that. My brother-in-law dropped his brand new Victory same day he bought it. Forgot about the kickstand! 🙂 Glad you’re okay though!

Leave a Reply

