New Boots: Breaking them in

I got some new motorcycling boots for Christmas. My amazing Wife got me the Forma Adventure Boots.

I’m pretty excited about them.

I was so excited about the new boots Christmas morning I ran down and tried them out on the Hyperstrada while still in my Christmas PJs.

This is the first pair of mor enduro type boots I’ve ever worn/used. I’m of mixed feelings about if they are better or worse than the sporty boots I’ve worn previously.

In one really important way they are immediately better than my old boots, as tested this week, they are waterproof. Dry feet when you get to work is really nice.

Besides that (which would come with any new pair of boots) I like the way they support my ankles a lot more than my sportier boots, the stiffness these have means that putting a leg down at a stop sign feels like I’m really planting something significant out there. This confidence is great with Hyperstrada since the seat is several inches higher than the FrankenMonster’s was. The boots also have a thicker sole, which is nice since it makes the reach to the ground a little less. The thicker sole does however make it harder to shift. That much more to move around and get under the lever for those upshifts.

The only other bad thing is something that I’m hoping will go away once they break in. They pinch the top of my foot when I get on my toes, like when crouching down. Not something I do that often but it is annoying. In general they are really stiff still, with all the rain I haven’t been wearing them that much.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear, Motocycling, motorcycle and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Boots: Breaking them in

  1. I’ve had a pair of Forma’s for around 3 years and they’re holding up well. Still waterproof and I find them pretty comfortable. Bigger and heavier than my road boats but probably offer more protection.

    Go out and get ’em dirty!

Leave a Reply

