Getting your Dream Bike?

I was sifting through old blog posts I found this old one written in May of 2013. It was written shortly after my lusting after the Hyperstrada began, at least it was the first time I shared it with the world.

It’s funny because when I was looking at bikes this year I’d somewhat forgotten how much I wanted this bike back then. Since then several other bikes have captured my attention, and the initial infatuation faded a bit.

However, now that I own the Hyperstrada it is interesting and fun to look back at my thoughts on it over three year ago. It is also a little surprising how accurate a lot of my thoughts about the bike were.

In the blog post I wrote that I was worried about several things of varying seriousness.

The first was the seat height. The original bike seat was at 33.5 inches, a little high. Luckily,they lowered sometime between now and 2013 so it’s not nearly as bad as I feared, in fact it could be a bit higher, but it hasn’t been a problem either way yet.

The second thing I was worried about was if the riding position would be ok with the screen and if it would block enough wind to make it comfortable. Luckily it’s great, the screen moves the air off my chest onto my shoulders/head, and if it gets really windy I simply lean slightly forward and I’m good.

The third thing I was worried about was the position of the center stand lever. The one on the multistrada interfered with the position of your feet on the pegs, I was worried after sitting on the Hyperstrada that the lever might be an issue. Another thing I’m happy to report isn’t an issue.

The last comment I made was about the side cases. They aren’t of the highest quality, but like I noted in the original post I don’t plan on using them often so hopefully they will hold up well for me.

I really enjoyed finding this post about the Hyperstrada from 2013, really interesting reading my thoughts about it and how excited I was about the bike.

Here I am at the bike show in 2013, still very enamoured with the Hyperstrada.

Here I am at the bike show in 2013, still very enamoured with the Hyperstrada.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Hyperstrada, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

