The Shortest Day: Winter is Here

Winter might have finally officially begun, but anyone who goes outside knows that we’ve been having winter weather for a while now. In fact in the last week we’ve gone from torrential rain to freezing temperatures. As a Bay Area Native I feel silly complaining about the weather, but as a motorcyclist I’m out in it a bit. Let me tell you 32 degrees at 70 mph is no joke. That’s damn cold.

Winter Solstice is a day I always look forward to. It is a turning point. Now the days will begin to get longer and good riding weather isn’t too far behind. The hope of warmer weather reminds me  that these days of cold fingers and toes are numbered. Although I’m sure there are many more bitterly cold mornings to come in the months ahead.

Winter is definitely the time of year when everyone (including me) starts to question the sanity of those of us who ride everyday. The cold and wet is no fun so why do we keep riding? Why put up with the literal pain of frozen finger tips and numb toes?

It’s simple really, motorcycling makes me happy. Commuting to work sucks, and doing it on a motorcycle makes it more fun. Driving to work might be nicer when I could be warm and cozy instead of cold. However, as long as there isn’t snow on the ground it’s never cold enough to make a my drive home better than riding my motorcycle home.

img_6998

Summer Solstice. Good to be halfway there.

 

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Shortest Day: Winter is Here

  1. motoventures says:

    I love December 21….it gives me hope of more sun, warmth, and many more adventures to come!

Leave a Reply

