The Longer Way Home

I’m sure almost everyone who commutes on a motorcycle has a “Long Way Home” route. Basically a way to get home that is much less direct, some series of roads that is off the beaten track and typically twisty and/or more scenic.

My route has been the topic of this blog many times, though it has changed a couple of times, it’s been basically the same for the last six years.

However, a few weeks ago shortly after getting the new motorcycle I decided to try a variation on the ride. This idea was inspired by the ride I did with my brother for my birthday and again with a friend later in the summer. Basically I swap the most boring part of the old long way home for a twisty and technical stretch or road that leads to means  a stretch of Highway 84 that is pretty damn amazing. The only downside is that the technical part means going pretty slow, and I lose some of my favorite places to take pictures. While the new ride has some great vistas they aren’t at places I can easily pull over for pictures.

I’ve only ridden it once, the weather has made it difficult to want to try it again. It takes me way off the beaten path which means the road will have much more debris and mud on it making it hard to justify since it wouldn’t be much fun.

Enough talk here’s the map:

There is one spot to take pictures from that is safe, the view is ok and I suspect you’ll see many variations from this point over the next year.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Longer Way Home

  1. Nothing wrong with taking the long way home…

    And thanks for the ear worm, I now have Take The Long Way Home by the Eagles in my head 😀

  2. Pingback: Take The Long Way Home. | EXPERIMENTAL GHOST

Leave a Reply

