Autumn Ride 2016: With Lots of Pictures

Getting away on a motorcycle is one of my most treasured activities. Some time on the road with no one but yourself to dictate your day and your pace. Solo riding is pretty amazing.

I also really enjoy motorcycle camping, and since I did not get to camp when we did the spring ride I wanted to do a fall trip. To top it all off with my hopes set on getting a new motorcycle it could also be the farewell ride with FrankenMonster.

All that put together shaped my plans. Which basically was ride north up the coast to Patrick’s Point and back again hitting all the good roads in between.

 

Nearly Packed and looking to hit the road.

I stopped in Stinson Beach to quick switch out my clear visor for a dark one, the sun was finally coming up.

 

The trip was fantastic. There were a few moments though that meant it wasn’t all smooth sailing. The first was a small anxiety attack while heading north on 101 that I already wrote about. The other stress worthy moment on the first day was when my fuel light came on really early about 20 miles past the last gas station and at least that far from the next one. It definitely made it hard to enjoy the Avenue of the Giants as much as I would have liked.

The last hiccup to the ride was my misguided attempt to ride an extreme mountain back road on a Ducati Monster. Too much gravel road and gravel in corners of the paved sections ruined the road.

The weather was perfect, sunshine and not cold along the coast and not to warm inland. Getting to ride the section of  Highway One that cuts inland from the coast to the avenue of the giants twice in one weekend was worth it by itself.  It was a lovely two days of riding.

Camping when on a solo motorcycle trip in pretty much mandatory. Last year when I did a solo trip I stayed in a hotel and it was horrible. Budget hotels are terrible, and fun sucking, and no a place to end an epic day on a motorcycle. Camping keeps the adventure going, the challenge of getting your tent up before dark (barely), getting a fire started (failed) and finding a place to eat (yum) are all part of the experience and keep the energy going. I do however need to remember to bring some earplugs into the tent with me. The forest is a lot noisier than my bedroom, I didn’t sleep that well.

Despite the lack of sleep the ride home was great, it’s nearly impossible to have a bad day on a motorcycle. Can’t wait to do something like that again.

Stopped in Jenner for a short break. These blue skys followed me all day long.

Skaggs Rd. Some will tell you it’s heaven for motorcycles. I’ll say it’s not bad, and probably better when there isn’t 5 miles of gravel road construction.

A break for breakfast on Skaggs Rd. There were some pretty parts.

Skaggs Rd. A good spot for breakfast.

Blue skies along the coast. So beautiful. Was hard to stop since I kept having to pass the same cars over and over again.

Love the Avenue of the Giants

It was an uncomfortable ride back to the campsite with the wood. Too bad it was a wasted effort.

It was getting dark as I set up camp.

You wouldn’t know it from this picture, but this road was awful.

Almost home.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati Monster 620, ducati monster 695, FrankenMonster 695, Motocycling, Motorcycles, Riding, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Autumn Ride 2016: With Lots of Pictures

  1. motoventures says:

    Glad you had a good adventure! I’m looking forward to moto camping next year…I finally bought all of my gear for it this fall!

  2. Pingback: The Year in Review: So Long 2016 | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  3. Pingback: Looking Back: 2016 Bucket List | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

