Every Little Thing Wrong With the FrankenMonster

I’ve been talking about getting a new motorcycle, which means possibly having to move the FrankenMonster on to make room in the garage. Ignoring for now how that makes me feel I’ve been working on an exhaustive list of everything wrong with the bike. Possibly to make it easier to move on from her, or maybe so that whoever I sell it too gets it with full disclosure?

Enough with the psychology of it all here they are in no particular order.

  • Leaking oil from vertical Cylinder which doesn’t match case perfectly. (620 case 695 cylinder)
  • Smoking from oil dripping on Exhaust
  • Doesn’t like to hold a low idle for more than a minute or two, long lights are annoying.
  • Front Left Brake cable rubbing on new fender (think this is stopped by zip tie)
  • Paint is meh on parts, specifically the scratch on the tank, and the rubbing from luggage on passenger grab handles.
  • Seat is worn in places (however it’s a very nice aftermarket Sergeant Seat, the original is in great condition sitting on a shelf in my garage).
  • Oil light… the damn oil light
  • Right Front turn signal occasionally connection comes loose.
  • Unlocking the seat, key stop is broken, have to stop at 90 degrees on your own.
  • Rear Brake was sticking last time they looked at it. They did adjust it. Was wearing more on one side.
  • Won’t start unless it’s in Neutral with the light on. Clutch lever switch broke so long ago I don’t even really remember a time when it worked.

Of course even with this laundry list of faults the bike still starts every time I ask it to and runs pretty damn good.

I’ll update as I think of things.

Look how sexy she is…

Blue Book is $3430 for a excellent condition one… we’re pretty far from that.

 

 

 

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, ducati monster 695, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Every Little Thing Wrong With the FrankenMonster

  1. MotoADVR says:

    If you’re looking at over $1000 in work, I’d probably just keep it.

  2. Zach says:

    It’s SUCH a good looking bike.

  3. lanie belluz says:

    I loved my 2002 Duc but like you there was always something to work on. I ended up selling mine on craigslist for around the bluebook value after I had a bunch of work done to it (not including the necessary valve adjustments every 5,000miles). They are a money pit but a great ride all the same.

Leave a Reply

