Garage Project: Changing the Oil on a SV650

I’ve never bothered changing the oil on my Ducati Monster. With service intervals of 6000 and now 7500 miles it seemed a little crazy to do it more often than that.

However, my brother owns  a proper Japanese bike with 12k service intervals which means changing the oil halfway at every 6000 miles isn’t too crazy and since I have a garage it’s not even that hard.

Made even easier on an SV650 for which there are about a million how to websites, forum posts and youtube videos.

I used one at Everyday Riding, it made the job super easy.  Even though I forgot to make sure I had the right tool to get the old oil filter off.

All in all the job was a fun way to spend a half hour or so in the garage hanging out with my brother.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Garage Project: Changing the Oil on a SV650

  1. justgoshoot says:

    always great learning to do all your own work on your own bike. Im learning to do as much on ours as possibly. Not always successful, but definitely learning a lot about the bikes.

  2. I’m easing The Bar Tender into motorcycle maintence. He doesn’t believe me that it’s easier than his car…

    The rewards are more than saving money. Its the knowing that something isn’t quite right just by sound or feel.

Leave a Reply

