Fixed! Rear Turn Signal

Thanks to the encouragement and helpful suggestions from a reader I decided to give my rear turn signal another look.

I started with taking out the bulb and looking for any grime or corrosion that would prevent it from getting a good contact. Not seeing any I began to trace the line back to the tail light. Not seeing anything there I turned the blinker on looking for some sort of bad connection, and when moving the bundle of wire that go from the signal to the tail light it flashed, just once.

Well I knew where to start looking.

I started by taking apart the turn signal, thinking I was going to have to remove the whole assembly when I found my problem.


This connector had pulled off and must have been just close enough to touch when I wiggled the wire.

It took a lot of doing but eventually I got everything back together and working, the wire did not have much slack, and was a pain to reattach.

So I’m back to having a working right turn signal! (though I still had my integrated one the whole time hence my slight lack of pressing need to fix it)

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, ducati monster 695, FrankenMonster 695, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fixed! Rear Turn Signal

  1. Excellent news, glad you got it fixed.

    Personally I hate electrical problems. They can be super hard to diagnose sometimes, and can be very frustrating.

    Cheers

    • MotoCynic says:

      Your comment motivated me to look into it again. So thanks for that. Electical problems are the worst, and after looking at it once it would have been ages if not for your suggestion.

Leave a Reply

