The Next Motorcycle: One More Criteria

I’m still looking and thinking about the next motorcycle. I listed my criteria a few weeks ago and realized that I had forgotten one thing that I would really like it to be able to do. I would really like if if could do 200 miles to a tank of gas.

This is of course related to my criteria that it get decent gas mileage, but most motorcycles that get good gas mileage have smaller tanks… which is extremely annoying for people like me who like to go places. Places that are off the beaten track, and sometime 80-100 miles between gas stations.

I suspect however that this will be the one think I am most likely to compromise on. I’ve lived getting 150-170 miles to a tank for so long that I’m sure I can continue to make do, but wish lists are exactly that, something to wish for.

20140328-130539.jpg

I think this is the farthest I went on a Ducati Monster, and it was my wife’s bike that runs much leaner than mine.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Next Motorcycle: One More Criteria

  1. motoventures says:

    I have a 5.9 gallon tank and regularly get 265-300 on a tank – love it!

Leave a Reply

