My Gear is Worth A Lot More Than My Motorcycle

IMG_4255One of the things I like about my insurance company is that they include my protective gear in the case of a crash. I was talking to a co-worker about this today and telling him to make sure that he asked his company about this.

Later I realized that my gear is worth more than my motorcycle, and probably has been for a couple of years. Certainly the replacement value of it is, not hard though considering my bike is worth only about a thousand dollars on a good day. My gear is easily worth twice that.

It is of course worth every cent.

I just hadn’t thought about it in a while, but quality gear isn’t cheap and there are several pieces that are not very cheap on their own and add up to a princely sum together.

The point of all this?

I’m not sure, maybe I’m just trying to justify a new motorcycle, or more likely make sure your insurance company covers more than your bike should the worst happen.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in FrankenMonster 695, Gear, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Gear is Worth A Lot More Than My Motorcycle

  1. motoventures says:

    Great post! I’m with Progressive and know that they cover accessories. I wonder if that includes gear?

Leave a Reply

