The Next Motorcycle: Looking over the options

I daydream about what bike I would get next a lot. For years this was simply a mental exercise since the money for a new motorcycle was elusive. Now though the money is hopefully going to be there, which is good since I think the FrankenMonster is rapidly becoming a bike I should stop putting money into.

My criteria for my next motorcycle is the following:

  • Enough Horsepower and suspension to make riding with a passenger and light luggage easy and fun.
  • Something good for touring, but doesn’t need to be that good on the freeway since I rarely do more than an hour at a time on freeways.
  • Idealy it won’t look stupid with a top case, and still make my heart race a little when I see her.
  • I need to commute on it, so decent (mid 40’s at least) gas mileage is desired.
  • I’d also like something that weighs 450lbs and definitely less than 500lbs.

Most of my criteria would point you toward a bigger capacity bike than I really want though. They tend to get heavy and the bigger capacity engines get bad gas mileage.

So I went to each major motorcycle manufacturer (Aprilia -Yamaha) and looked at what motorcycles met my criteria.

This is what I found. (in no real particular order)

2015-triumph-tiger-800xrx-b

Triumph Tiger 800 XRx

2016%2f05%2fheader-fz_versys-9417

Kawasaki Versys 1000 LT

2016 Honda Africa Twin DCT

Honda Africa Twin

121914middle

Yamaha FJ-09

interceptor_2015_04

Honda VFR800 Interceptor

maxresdefault

Suzuki V-Strom 1000

And then there is this one:

Ducati HyperStrada

 

Don’t make a bike that meet criteria: KTM, Aprilia, BMW*, MV Augusta, Harley, and Moto Guzzi

*BMW might actually make motorcycles that meet my criteria, but were omitted for obvious reasons

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Next Motorcycle: Looking over the options

  1. motoventures says:

    Get 10 riders in a room and you’ll get 20 opinions from 30 personalities! My $.02 is that I love my V-Strom and it is very hard to get more value from any other bike. I had the 1000 and went to the 650 and not I routinely get 55mpg on the bike. I truly LOVE it!

  2. MotoADVR says:

    Obviously I’m going to tell you to buy the Tiger, it has the most flexibility of the lot. That said however, I think the FJ-09 is probably the budget winner, and you can probably find one used or late model “new” and marked down at this point. Regarding Moto Guzzi, are you saying that the Stelvio and the Norge don’t meet the criteria?

Leave a Reply

