MotoCynic Theory: On why the ST2’s battery was dead for Laguna Seca

Since you’re here reading the blog I’m going to assume you’re familiar with the ups and downs we’ve been through with the battery on the Ducati ST2 that is in my garage.

The latest drama was that it was completely dead again when I went to try and start it the night before Laguna Seca. Which was surprising since it had only been a few months since I rode it last. (The wife’s Ducati Monster 620 goes longer fine)

Luckily it wasn’t really needed, though it would have been nice to let a friend borrow it for the weekend, instead of making him drive a car.

Since it was fine for the Spring Motorcycle Trip I was hoping it would be fine while I commuted on it while the FrankenMonster was in the shop for it’s 100,000 mile service.

Long story short: It was great if a bit loud.

The real test was when I left it at my parents for a week due to last minute motorcycle swapping. I had high hopes that it would start after a week of siting idle. Luckily for me and my friends I was meeting to ride with it started easily.

So what happened to the Battery?

I have two thoughts:

One, is the USB charger that is rumored to drain batteries over weeks or days, that was left on the bike probably did drain the battery.

Two, I will have to get the bike out after a month or so and see if it starts to prove the above .

The suspect. Which couldn’t mess with the ST2 since I moved it to my bike when mine died.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Riding and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

