The ST2: The Loud One

The ST2 is a fun bike. Of course most motorcycles are. I suppose there are unfun motorcycles out there, but it’s unlikely that any of them have been made by Ducati in the past 15 years. Since it is a Ducati, it handles fine, and makes good grunt, pushing you up the road with plenty gusto.


Maybe too much gusto? One of the things that make it so different from my bike is the fairing and windscreen. It really does isolate you from the experience a bit. Without the wind pushing on me I don’t quite feel the speed as much. Which makes it easier to go fast, which isn’t a good thing. I don’t need a speeding ticket.

I’ve had a good week on the ST2, it has started every time I’ve asked it too, and even gotten decent gas milage (estimate 42-43 mpg).

There are a few downsides though. One of the smallest is that there isn’t anywhere to put my cellphone. Which means I have to stick it in a pocket and it usually ends up poking me since the riding position is a bit more crouched.

The major downside which you might have guessed from the title is the noise. In general I like that my bikes are louder and more fun than my Honda Civic. I don’t however like to worry about waking up all of my neighbors when I leave for work at 6AM.

It’s a love hate thing really. I love roaring down the freeway, I hate it on quiet back roads and city streets.

Overall it’s a good bike, it is just too bad it makes a god awful racket.

I got home last night to see that the rubber bit from the left foot peg has come off. Hopefully I can get it replaced soon.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The ST2: The Loud One

  1. Pingback: MotoCynic Theory: On why the ST2’s battery was dead for Laguna Seca | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

