T-CLOCS: It’s still a thing

The FrankenMonster is in the shop getting it’s 100,000 mile service so I rode the wife’s monster for a few days before switching to the ST2.

Her bike is running great now that we’ve fixed the issue it was having when we were trying to get home from Laguna Seca.  However, my friends ST2 has been having charging issues still. Sort of… Really we’re not sure what’s going on, although I do have some recent theories.

What we know for sure is that the night before we were going to Laguna Seca a friend called seeing if we had an extra bike. We went to check the ST2 and see if it had enough charge and it did not, barely enough to get the dash to light up. So we put it on the charger but it was still too low to start the next morning. We let the friend know he was going to have to drive and were left pondering what could still be causing problems with the ST2.

In an effort to see how it ran once it got to full charge I put it on the charger on Saturday night. By Sunday it was showing charged, so I put my luggage on it and planned to ride it to work on Monday. I thought about going out for a ride, but I just did not have the time or energy to make it happen.


Monday morning I set out to work and everything was going fine. Bike started easily and I headed down the street. Stopping at the stop sign  and then making the left at the end of the street seemed a bit weird but I had not ridden the bike in months so I figured it was just me adjusting to the bigger bike. The bike seemed to be turning heavier and awkwardly. However, the ST2 has always been slower steering than my FrankenMonster though so I kept going. A few turns later though I knew it wasn’t me, something was off with the bike and I suspected low front tire pressure. I looped back toward home and sure enough the front only had 20 PSI in it. I topped it off and could immediately tell the difference.

I feel like such a noob. T-CLOCS is a thing for a reason. I don’t do it everyday, but I definitely should do it on a bike that hasn’t been ridden in 4 months.

Lesson taught… now hopefully I’ll remember next time!

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to T-CLOCS: It’s still a thing

Leave a Reply

