My Birthday Ride: Planning and Execution

Two very different things.

I love going for a motorcycle ride on my birthday. It’s a day that I can guilt free plan a half day ride and no one thinks twice.

In the weeks before my birthday I had lots of different ideas of what I wanted to do and where I was going to go. Some of my more ambitious ideas were several hundered miles long. Skaggs road and heading up north were definitely on my short list.

The first hiccup to my plans was that my Father who is supposedly retired got a job. In his defense it is a good job for a retired person, one only requiring him to work two days a month for only a few hours. Sadly those hours happened to be when I was hoping to gather for a birthday dinner. Luckily my brother is a teacher and my parents (mostly) retired so I just bumped dinner to lunch. However this meant that I needed to be back from whatever ride I planned in time for lunch.

I still had no route I was particularly happy with before heading off to see the races at Laguna Seca just a few days before my birthday. However, while there my brother and I tentatively decided to just ride up the coast together to Jenner and that would be enough. It was a little ambitions trying to get back in time for a lunch, but not too bad.

This was the plan heading to the morning of my birthday even the drama with my wife’s bike had not changed my mind about going for a long ride.

The final wrench in the plans was a good bout of insomnia the night before the ride. I woke up at two in the morning and was unable to get back to sleep for several hours. Since I had gone to bed pretty late the night before this meant I got less than four hours of sleep. Not feeling my best I texted my brother to meet me at the Coffee Shop where we would come up with something while I consumed lots of caffeine.

This is the route we ended up deciding on. I spent about 20 minutes pouring over the Northern California Butler Map, before deciding on this. The main highlight was riding Alpine Road, which I had not done in many years and despite the fact that I wasn’t fond of it the last time we would be doing it uphill this time which can definitely change the character of the road.

I did film most of the ride on my GoPro. Including the small moment where my brother blew a corner and went into the other lane along Pescadaro Rd. I hope to post some of the video on YouTube in the coming weeks.
Over all a good ride, not nearly as long as I would like, but it was fun to be out on the motorcycle with my brother.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, Riding and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Birthday Ride: Planning and Execution

  1. motoventures says:

    Hope you had a great birthday and glad you had a fun and safe ride!

  2. Happy belated birthday wishes 😊

  3. Pingback: The Longer Way Home | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

