Spring Ride 2016: Part II

More fun and games!

In hindsight the third day of the Spring Trip was the best. It was the only day that all four of us rode together and it was also they day that we rode one of the nicest roads in Northern California.

img_6398-1

As was the norm, we got up early and after a brief stop at Starbucks were on the road and heading east on Highway 299 again. What can I say about 299, with us you either love it or hate it. I like it, there are some beautiful vistas and big sweeping turns. There was still a lot of construction though so we couldn’t really enjoy it that much. There was also some pretty dense fog at the vista point. I hoped to just stop and keep going after I confirmed that there was no hope for a view, but my brother needed to change his visor since he was really struggling with visibility. I told him that we would be heading down immediately since we were at the peak, but he was too concerned so switched. Unfortunately for him I was right. About 100 yards from the vista point the fog cleared and was not seen for the rest of the day.

We continued on 299 down to Highway 96, which is a great road to ride, I’ve done it now three times and would go back again today if I could. It’s just a nice piece of road. Lots of big sweeping corners with just a smattering of tighter stuff, enough to keep you engaged for most of it’s length. The real bonus is just how beautiful it all is as you follow the Klamath River. We took a couple of breaks, one of which was 20 minutes or so long, which we would have all said that we did not see a car drive past the entire time.

Klamath River, and Highway 96, a magic combination.

Klamath River, and Highway 96, a magic combination.

Sadly all good roads must come to an end and this one ends on Highway 5. Not the best or most interesting road, but the section we took south to Redding is one of the nicer sections. Mt. Shasta watches over you the entire time. If you take the time to look up.

Which I got teased about a lot when we stopped in Yreka for lunch. Apparently when we turned down toward Yreka off of 96 you could see Mt. Shasta in the distance. I did not notice the giant mountain however (probably too focused on making sure I had everyone following me) and since missing a mountain is a pretty crazy thing to do I caught a bit of flak.

That night we stayed in a very nice Hotel, which sadly did not have it’s Hot Tub working, which was a bummer since that’s why we chose it. It did have a decent restaurant and good beds and quiet rooms. We slept well, with another early start in the morning.

We split up and headed our separate ways. One of my friends had to head to the Folsom lake area to visit his Father (not in prison) and so to make the fastest time headed South on Highway 5. The rest of us headed west on Highway 36, this time getting to enjoy all of it. Rain threatened all morning long with heavy overcast skies, but luckily we did not see any of it along 36. We enjoyed all of it’s wonderful twists and turns.

Taking a break on a rare straight of Hwy 36.

Taking a break on a rare straight of Hwy 36.

Then we were on 101 heading south. By this time I was emotionally done. It had been a long 3.5 days and the stress had gotten to me. I pointed us south and set a good pace. We did have some good times, but the rain definitely put an end to that. Just south of Willits it began raining off and on and did not stop until after we got home. It was a dreary ride that was mentally taxing.

Luckily we all got home without event. Just damp and tired.

Initially I was very disappointed in the trip, however after analyzing it and listening to my friends praise of the trip I’ve realized that nearly all of it was amazing, and with just a few tweaks could be even better.

I can’t wait to do it again.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, Motorcycles, Riding, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring Ride 2016: Part II

  1. motoventures says:

    I had to laugh at your statement about initially not being happy. I’ve felt that way before returning home from a ride, only to realize that when I really thought about it, it really was a great ride. Besides, even a “bad” ride on the bike is better than a good day at work!

Leave a Reply

