Too Loud? Maybe…

I love motorcycles. I seriously think they are second only to my loved ones as the greatest thing in the world (and some days even I wonder if that order is correct =P).
I think everyone should ride who can, and have spent a good deal of my riding life helping others get on two wheels.
That being said there are a few things that still really bug me about them.

The biggest being loud exhausts. I’m sure I’ve complained about this before, but last night while having a very nice dinner in Portland I was annoyed several times as motorcycles rode by. The exhaust so loud that it drowned out conversation 50ft away. This is at Portland speeds too, so 30-35 MPH. It’s ridiculous, obnoxious and rude to pollute the environment with your noise.

I’m not saying we should be quiet, I do think that people should think of their neighbors and others when they decide to bolt on that completely unnecessary aftermarket exhaust.

Loud pipes may save lives (doubtful) but they sure do annoy a lot of people. I’ve written about this before: https://motocynic.wordpress.com/2009/04/24/interesting/

If you feel like diving into the topic even more lots of other people have things to say about it.

http://www.revzilla.com/common-tread/stop-saying-loud-pipes-save-lives

http://www.motorcyclecruiser.com/last-word-loud-pipes-tech-matters

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/do-loud-pipes-save-lives.htm

First Day on his motorcycle in the parking lot.

This guys bike is a little loud…

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Too Loud? Maybe…

  1. MotoADVR says:

    The longer I ride the more I find myself stepping away from the mainstream American motorcyclist. I wear a helmet, earplugs, and armored gear… rain or shine. I find loud stereos annoying and loud exhaust obnoxious. There is (unfortunately) no evidence to disprove that loud pipes save lives, but there is this thing called the “doppler effect”, some folks might want to read up on that.

  2. Otterpop says:

    Today walking home from the grocery store I could hear a cruiser from 3 blocks away. There has to be a point of diminishing returns where loud pipes protect you to the point where a motorist wants to see your demise, even if they don’t want to actively participate in it.

Leave a Reply

