Motorcycling When Tired: Still Healing

I’ve been riding to work now for two weeks after the surgery. Overall it’s been good, but I’m clearly still not 100%. I think the biggest indications of this is how tired I am in the afternoons. This tiredness I feel has affected my riding and it has made the ride home sometimes less than ideal.

Of course it’s also affecting my life in other ways, one of them is of course finding the energy to write this blog.

That however is not the point of this blog. Not writing a blog doesn’t endanger my life (I hope). Riding when groggy and tired might. I’ve been riding long enough that I’ve ridden tired a fair number of times. It’s obviously not the best idea. Not only is it hard to enjoy riding a motorcycle when tired, it is hard to do it well. When tired my mind wanders easily and it’s hard keep focused on the road. Being tired also tends to slow my reactions to things. Of course if it was really bad I would find another way to get home and it never got to the point where I was worried about my ability. It was enough though to suck the fun from the ride a few times. Making my commute a half hour slog to get home.

I am getting better, overall I feel better nearly every day. I just wish my stamina would get back up to speed.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Motorcycling When Tired: Still Healing

  1. motoventures says:

    Well as long as you take a nap AFTER you pull over (like the guy in the picture) then all will be well! 🙂

    Hope you get back to 100% soon.

Leave a Reply

