Hope This Works: New Engine for the Suzuki SV650

I know most of you are aware that the engine on my brothers bike died just after we got back from the 2016 Spring Trip. He threw a piston and sat on the side of the freeway for four hours. With a dead engine there is really only a couple of things you can do. Get a new(er) engine or get a new bike. Since a new bike wasn’t really an option and engines from salvaged motorcycles fairly inexpensive we went with the later route.

I of course helped my brother weed through the many many Suzuki 650 engines on Ebay and found one that looked good at a good and fair price. It was then that we ran into problems. My brother’s Ebay account had been suspended for some reason and Ebay wasn’t going to fix that anytime soon. So we ended up having a friend order the engine with the intent of shipping it to the mechanic. Nope, they wouldn’t ship it to anywhere but the billing address…

Well at least he lives close to the mechanic.

So my brother and I drove to our friends house on Saturday to pick up the engine and get it to the mechanic. This went pretty well although not without some adventure of getting the huge box into my Honda Civic. We ended up cutting the top third of the box off to get it to fit into the back seat.

There was a screw for the exhaust that was being stubborn. Other wise looked good.

The guys at the shop were awesome as always and hope to have his bike done by Saturday. Which is great since I’ll need the car back by the following Monday to go to work. It’s going to be a long six or so weeks with no motorcycling for me while I heal up from my upcoming surgery.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

