Spring Trip 2016: First the Bad

I haven’t been writing enough lately. Life has been just not calm enough to find the time and I feel bad about this since I do want to share with everyone how the spring trip went.

Over all it went great, but afterwards I wasn’t feeling that glow I typically feel after a good motorcycling trip and it took me a while to pin down why.

There are lots of little reasons why I think I did not enjoy this trip as much as previous ones, but the biggest one is pretty obvious. I spent the entire trip worrying about everyone else having fun and being safe that I was drained at the end. So drained that I snapped at one of my closest friends at a time when we should have been celebrating an amazing several days doing the most fun thing ever.

img_6398-1

My constant worrying was made worse by the fact that two of the riders are still pretty new, one of them is my brother and the other a close friend. I spent a lot of time looking in my mirrors waiting anxiously to see lights behind me. This isn’t the recipe for a relaxing day.

The second thing that marred the trip was the constant compromising I had to do. I’m so used to riding by myself or just one other rider that I felt that I was never riding my own ride I was doing some lesser version of the ride. Most of the fault here lies in my expectations. I expected to have a ride like I did a couple of years ago and that didn’t happen. In hindsight that was a completely unrealistic ideal to have, that spring ride was some of the best motorcycling I’ve ever had.

Not to say that there wasn’t good motorcycling, there was a lot of it. There was also some amazing meals with great people. Over all the trip was a success and I’m pretty sure that everyone wants to do another.

I did learn somethings, mostly about me and who I am as a planner, leader and a rider. There will be changes for the next trip.

Most of them in my head.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, New Rider, Riding, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spring Trip 2016: First the Bad

  1. John says:

    I feel for you. I almost never ride with anyone. When I ride with less experienced riders I always ride sweep, relax and watch out after them!

  2. motoventures says:

    Glad you’ve had time to decompress and evaluate the ride. No worries – we’ll be here when you’re ready to share more!

  3. zed14 says:

    I have just been going through a few of your earlier blogs on planning and made the comment that the worst part of being the organiser is being the mother hen and worrying.

    I find I worry more when riding with less experienced riders or riders that I haven’t ridden with much as I don’t know their style and have trouble reading their behaviour.

    Whereas I have a couple of other riding friends and we have done a lot of miles together including a number of 1,000+ mile days. We all have very similar riding styles and I find that I hardly need to think about what they are doing as I just know what they are doing.

  4. Pingback: Phone Calls While Riding A Motorcycle: Not sure it should be a thing… | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

