Stuck on the Side of the Road: For Four Hours

My brother lived out one of my nightmares on Tuesday and I couldn’t think of a way to help him in time. Making it a nightmare of my own.

The Suzuki SV650 went kerplunk. Looks like he threw a piston, it’s been burning oil a lot since he got it and he was bad at checking it on the trip. Of course they why doesn’t matter, he was on the side of the freeway stuck. So of course he calls the only person he can be sure will help him in this time of need, my wife.

Yes my wife. At first I wondered why, and I don’t know for sure why my brother called her instead of me, but I can’t say I blame him. She’s probably better at answering her phone than I am.

I sadly don’t have a truck so we couldn’t go get him, I had him call USAA (our insurance provider) for a tow, thinking that they would take care of him. I was sadly very wrong. They let him sit on the side of the road for over four hours, before they finally got him a tow. We’re all pretty pissed about this as you can imagine. Luckily he was on a wide shoulder, but still he was left there until way after dark with his battery nearly dead because of having his emergency lights on.

I can’t imagine being stuck on the side of the road that long, and I’m upset that I didn’t join him. Every time I thought about going though it seemed like it wouldn’t be worth the drive in traffic since help was “on it’s way”. We did learn our lesson though. The trailer that can tow a motorcycle will be purchased very soon. I’m not leaving my fate or the fate of my brother in anyone else’s hands if I can help it.

My Brother on the side of a different road at a better time.

My Brother on the side of a different road at a better time.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles, New Rider and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stuck on the Side of the Road: For Four Hours

  1. motoventures says:

    Wow – that sucks. I have USAA and hope I don’t ever have to rely on them for a tow!

  2. Heather says:

    This was the first time USAA let us down. They’ve sent help in an easy and timely manor in the past. This time….they’re ineptitude combined with the first tow truck driver’s ineptitude compounded into a disaster of a situation.

  3. Pingback: Hope This Works: New Engine for the Suzuki SV650 | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

