Back in Gear: Parts wear out after 90,000 miles

There was much craziness last week with the collection of motorcycles.

The ST2 had a dead battery and mine wouldn’t go into Neutral so it wouldn’t start.

I wrote about the ST2’s battery issue in another blog entry but if you missed it, basically the battery dried out and wasn’t keeping a charge. I got that fixed relatively easily once I knew what the problem was.

Getting the neutral light fixed on my FrankenMonster was a bit more of a challenge.

The first problem would be getting it to the shop, this was going to prove to be a small issue since it wasn’t starting on it’s own. I was very hopeful that I could bump start it. Luckily I live on a hill so all I had to do was get the FrankenMonster out to the street and then just get it going down the hill. This wasn’t too hard and fortunately once I got enough speed and dropped the clutch  the bike started immediately. Vroom!  I grabbed the suspect battery from the ST2 and was off to the guys at Nichols Sportbike.

I was one of the first people at the shop that morning, which was good since it ended up being a busy morning for them. I explained the problem to them and they thought the most likely problem would be the switch located on the back of the engine case. The only worry it seemed to me was that they don’t fail that often.

That part is a bit of a pain to get to, but they finally got it out and compared it to a new one it was clear that the switch had worn down a bit. Here is a picture of the old one.

That's a little part.

That’s a little part.

I don’t have a picture of the new one, but that little bit at the end is normally a few crucial millimeters longer. Apparently, after 90,000+ miles of shifting things wear down…

They put the new one in and it hasn’t been this easy to find the neutral light in years. I’m quite pleased.

The other awesome bit about all this is the part was only $20 and it didn’t take them that long so I was out of there for very little pain to the wallet.

I go in next week for new tires, I’m sure that will hurt a lot more!

You can see that part, there in the middle, between that strut and the yellow shock spring...

You can see that part, there in the middle, between that strut and the yellow shock spring…

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in ducati monster 695, FrankenMonster 695, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

