Good Thing I Have Three in the Garage

A week and a half ago I couldn’t get my bike into Neutral, and therefore couldn’t start it and ride it to work. I was really annoyed that morning and because of how long I spent messing around with my bike I ended up driving the car to work. (It wasn’t all bad it was pouring rain on my drive home)

After being in LA for work in a Rental car that following weekend there was no way I was going to drive to work on Monday last week! Certainly not when I have three motorcycles in my garage. So the Monday morning I pulled out my friends ST2 to take it to work, not playing favorites, it was just the easiest to get to. I went to turn it on and nothing. Despite of (or as I would find out because of) being on a tender it was not getting any power.

I was a little annoyed, but since I was already moving bikes around I kept going and squeezed the wife’s monster out.

Commute saved!

I did end up trying to figure out what was wrong with the ST2’s battery. Which was an adventure. One that started with me just trying to get to the damn thing, then attaching different battery chargers to it. Finally I gave up and removed enough faring to get the battery out and I realized what the problem was. The battery was completely (or mostly) dry. I took it into my guys at Nichols Sport Bike and they confirmed this. They also fixed my bike right up, but that’s another story.

I’m just glad I have enough motorcycles in the garage! (though I really am worried that I need another just to be safe)

This was just before I left, charging wires still dangling as I tried to get to work somewhat on time.

This was just before I left, charging wires still dangling as I tried to get to work somewhat on time.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Ducati, Ducati Monster 620, FrankenMonster 695, Garage, Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Good Thing I Have Three in the Garage

  1. Pingback: Back in Gear: Parts wear out after 90,000 miles | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

