The week before Daylight Savings

I have a complicated relationship with Daylight Savings time, though I suspect that almost everyone does. One of the things that I hate most about it is the fact that it starts too soon and ends too late.

This week and next are the weeks I dislike it the most. This week I hate because it’s a giant tease. The sun is finally coming up early enough for me not to have to ride to work in complete darkness.  It is as if the sun is like “Look it’s spring time the days are getting longer and I’m up and shinning as you go to work. SYKE! NOT!” and it laughs as daylight savings starts and I’m in the dark for another month or so.

I’m not sure why we can’t wait for it to be actually Spring before it starts and end it with the start of fall. I just would like a little more light in the mornings just a little longer.

I must be in the minority.

The Sunrise on Highway 58

The Sunrise on Highway 58

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, Riding and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The week before Daylight Savings

  1. Ry Austin says:

    I feel your pain, Cynic: Tomorrow and Friday we’re expecting temps in the 70s here in Salt Lake, only to be plunged back into the dark and cold come Monday. It is indeed a tough time of year.

  2. MotoADVR says:

    Agreed, it is bitter sweet. That said, I’d much rather ride to work in the dark and then have more daylight to ride after work. Cabin fever sets in pretty fast in Ohio, going to work in the dark, then coming home in the dark. It gets pretty tough to get things done outside on weekdays, so those types of activities typically start taking up time on the weekends… provided it’s not raining or snowing.

Leave a Reply

