Trying to Make Everyone Happy

I’m still planning my spring motorcycle trip, and it’s harder than it has been ever before.

The planning is so hard because I’m trying to make the trip work with so many different types of riders. I have really experienced riders (me) who want to spend all day on the motorcycle, to newer riders who are worried that they’ll mentally collapse if they spend all day on the motorcycle. I also have riders that really want to camp and others that aren’t as interested in camping.

I’m torn because I want to ride with all of these people, yet I’ve been hoping and dreaming about this trip for months and don’t want to have it fall apart on me or kill anyone because I pushed them too hard.

So I’ve been staring at maps and playing with google maps of and on for days, and I’ve yet to talk to my team but I think I might have found something that might work out for everyone. I have routes that have places we can stop if some are too beat, and hotels as options if camping seems like too much after a day on a motorcycle.

Day One
https://goo.gl/maps/i5uYNimjKWH2

Day Two
https://goo.gl/maps/pwFwkrXxJn72

Day Three
https://goo.gl/maps/5QuW6DKHtEw

Day Four
https://goo.gl/maps/E8uG6bMZ2EQ2

This last day is really terrible. So very boring. Maybe I’ll go down the coast.

IMG_4053

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Riding, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trying to Make Everyone Happy

  1. DRF says:

    Riding with others has its benefits, but I mostly prefer to ride alone on long trips. I can set my own pace, stay and eat where I want. And stop as many times as I want to take photos. I hope you enjoy your trip. Looking forward to seeing your blog posts. Ride safe.

    • MotoCynic says:

      Yeah, I wrote about this a while ago, how I like to ride alone. It hasn’t been an issue until now since my usual riding buddy is very similar in range and being willing to stop etc.

      We’ll see how this trip goes, I hope my worries are just the product of an over active imagination.

  2. Deckyon says:

    I have a great love/hate relationship for planning trips that involve other people. I want to ride, and there are times I love riding with others. Sometimes, I would rather follow, others I want to lead. What I have found is to 1, keep the groups small and 2, set the riding level expectation early and often. It is up to others to ride their own ride within their skill level.

    Something I have done in a couple rides was to make specific waypoints for Lunch, Break, Dinner, Camp with approximate times of when everyone should meet up at those spots. This will allow those who are less experienced to take a different route, or skip a few placed. It will also allow those more experience riders to head off on a different, more difficult route. Having a place to meet, you can still do the trip without leaving anyone out.

    Another thing to try, make sure to keep watch behind. The leader keeps the rider’s headlight behind him in sight. The 2nd rider keeps the 3rd’s headlight in sight and so on. No need for a sweeper, and it will keep the pace to that of the slowest rider. If one loses sight of a headlight, they slow down and that ripples through the line. I have done this a number of times and it just works.

  3. Pingback: Spring Ride: Almost Done Planning | Motorcycles and the Cynic

  4. zed14 says:

    Sometimes trying to make a trip that accommodates everyone just isn’t possible for the reasons you have mentioned. So you just plan something that you want and invite others, and the invite can be targeted towards the appropriate skill level.

    The one thing I don’t like when organising a ride is feeling like the mother hen and having to wait for riders all the time.

Leave a Reply

