Testing Butt Toughness: Breaking in the new riders (literally)

I’m really hoping that my spring motorcycling touring trip happens. I’m doing everything I can to make sure it does.

Part of my preparation is making sure my newer riders are up for spending all day on a motorcycle. To test this I planned an all day 350 mile ride for us to go on.

Let’s say that I learned a lot, and I think they learned something too. (e.g. don’t ride with the MotoCynic, he’s crazy)

Of course it has been a long time since I took my first long motorcycle trip. Just about nine years ago, so maybe I forgot how much it takes out of you. My riding companions where wiped out after it.

This wasn’t helped by the fact that one of them had a minor get off, (decreasing radius left hand turn) and in hindsight I probably should have cut the trip short after this and headed back. He kept on insisting he was OK and I took him at face value. I should have gone with my stomach, luckily we didn’t have any further problems and we all made it home safely.

Lessons learned.

  • For me as organizer to call it when a rider has a crash even a minor one, no matter what they say.
  • I need to make sure to have an afternoon break planned to relax and get some caffeine.
  • I need to make sure they know how many hours we’ll be riding so they get a good nights sleep and come properly prepared with water etc.
  • Focus on getting an earlier start, the miles are always easier in the morning before lunch.

They learned a few things too.

  • Get a good nights sleep. (they were both up late the night before)
  • Don’t try and keep up with me on a good twisty section.
  • All day comfort is a tricky thing. It’s worth looking into bicycle shorts and throttle helpers. Warm gloves and layers are good too.

It was a long day of riding and I could tell just past the halfway mark that they were lagging, sadly there is no way to just stop for the day when you still are a hundred miles from home. For me it was a 435 mile day, on the longer side but nothing I haven’t done before and wouldn’t do again. However I think the combination of my physical and mental experience with riding motorcycles made it much easier on me.

They look pretty tired here. It was gorgeous out there though.

They look pretty tired here. It was gorgeous out there though.

 

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, Motorcycles, Riding, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Testing Butt Toughness: Breaking in the new riders (literally)

  1. Pingback: Crashing: It happens | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

