State of the Aerostich: I want a new one

There we were, my brother, a friend of mine and I, fresh from a ride and grabbing a coffee before heading out again. We were talking about gear and it’s importance and I was looked down at my legs to check out how big the reflective strip was and noticed that it had started to come off from the velcro. Reminding me again that the suit is eight years old and I really want a new one.

I haven’t looked recently but lots of people talk about keeping their Aerostich suit for years if not decades which means it really isn’t that old. I mean it just turned eight this month, in years that is barely middle aged. However, in miles we’re close to 100,000 miles which included two crashes. One of which was so bad that I nearly totaled the suit and it needed extensive repairs to be to be usable again.

If I’m honest with myself the real reasons I want a new one aren’t because this one is worn out, or that it’s getting a bit long in the tooth. I know that it’s still going to do the business if the worst happens. I want a new one because the new one would fit me better, and have the new waterproof zippers. Both of those things would make my riding life much nicer.

The fit is something that I notice everyday, I’m a bit skinnier than I was when I got it and I use much smaller pads in the hips than I originally ordered with the suit. This causes the suit to bunch up weirdly on my thighs which is annoying and take some shifting around once I’m on the bike to get rid of.

Too bad I did not get a "before" picture. It looks so much better. Probably Smells better too!

Too bad I did not get a “before” picture. It looks so much better. Probably Smells better too!

 

NOTES

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear, Motocycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

