Motortcycle Gear: Everything Matters

I did not mean for my blog to focus so much on gear this year but I saw a rider on the freeway the other day and their shoulder bag was all over the place. I was only following them for a couple of miles and it slid around from their back to the side a couple of times. Looked distracting as hell. Which means it was dangerous.

They weren’t wearing much in the way of protective gear either so I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that they did not have the right bag either. However, it looked extremely dangerous since not only was it sliding off their back it was over their left shoulder so it was coming down on the throttle side. Any interference with your riding is not a good idea, but this was not fun to watch. Luckily(?) they got off the freeway soon after I saw them so hopefully they got home safely.

There is a reason for all of this motorcycling specific gear: backpacks, helmet inserts, underclothes, etc. All of it makes motorcycling safer and/or at least more comfortable. No one rides as well when they are wet, cold, hot, or distracted by loose straps.

Think about your comfort when you ride, and if something is bugging you, maybe you should fix it.

Look at all this crap I have just to ride around on two wheels and be comfortable and safe.

Look at all this crap I have just to ride around on two wheels and be comfortable and safe.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear, Motocycling, New Rider, Riding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Motortcycle Gear: Everything Matters

  1. motoventures says:

    I’m all about ATGATT. I feel naked without it!

Leave a Reply

