2016: State of the Blog

Better late than never I suppose. That seems to be the the theme of my motorcycle blog for the past nine months or so. I hate to bore you with something not motorcycle related but, I feel that full disclosure is needed even if not wanted.

I’m still struggling to find a rhythm and a way to manage my time in my new house. I used to write at the coffee shop near our house. I would get home and the wife and I would walk over there and get a chai latte and I would sit down and write, trying for at least 20-30 minutes every day.

Now with the new house everything has changed. We no longer live as close to the coffee shop, making it a much longer trip, and since walking was one of the excuses we used to go, we can’t just drive. The other big change is that our house cost a bit more than our condo (shocking?) and so money is tighter, making the luxury of going out for daily chai not something we can afford.

So I am left with a lack of time that is specifically set aside for writing. The distractions in the house are much greater and the afternoons and evenings seem to vanish so easily.

I will do what I can to figure this out, writing is important to me and I need to continue with it for my own happiness. I’m sure at the very least I’ll muddle along like I have with my barely two posts a week for a while, but I hope to hit my stride and get back up to three posts even if they aren’t all brilliant.

I’m looking forward to sharing my motorcycle adventures with you in 2016.

My new writing corner, much nicer than the coffee shop and it has kitties.

My new writing corner, much nicer than the coffee shop and it has kitties.

 

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2016: State of the Blog

  1. AmericanGirl says:

    I used to worry too that I wasn’t posting enough, but I didn’t want to post junk just for the sake of posting. I end up posting about once a month for the most part, and that has turned out just fine. I checked out your blog and I really like it. Keep it up and yeah, writing 20 to 30 min a day (on your blog or not) is what I strive for also. If you haven’t seen it yet, check out the book; “642 Things To Write About”. It’s fun and gives ideas when you can’t think of any. Keep up the blog and your writing, I look forward to more of your stuff.

  2. rjbuxton says:

    The trick has to be to do as you do – just write something. Keep the flow maintained. The alternative is a hiatus that could eventually become a full stop. Best of luck.

  3. motoventures says:

    Just write for you, and when you can. We’ll be here enjoying it when you do!

Leave a Reply

