New Riders: WEAR GEAR

I love meeting people who ride motorcycles, and new riders are  my favorites. Hearing their stories of the newness of it all and how they got into it is always fun. There is one part of it that I hate though.

It inevitably happens right after they tell me of a close call they had. I typically follow my nodding sagely and agreeing that they were lucky/skillful to avoid it with the comment “Good thing you wear full gear though.” Too often this is followed with some version of “Yes, well except I don’t have ____ .”(fill blank in with gloves, pants, jacket, boots and way too often a combination of them)

This leaves me with trying to  encourage them to get gear with out yelling, or swearing, or any sort of reaction that I normally want to have. I need to stay calm and explain succinctly that gear is really important and necessary if you want to ride a motorcycle. I don’t want to preach at them, I want them to see me as a role model and respect me, but at the same time I want to get the idea of how important gear is.

The problem is that no one in their late teens or early twenties realizes that they can be hurt or killed. It’s almost as if it is hard wired into our brains that we are indestructible at these ages. I have no idea how we survived as a species, but that really does seem to be the case.

It takes lots of people telling you that riding a motorcycle means wearing proper gear before it sinks in. Which is why I get so annoyed at media when it doesn’t portray this. (which should be another post)

So, just in case you missed the point of this and are a new rider, you need to wear the following when you ride a motorized two wheeled vehicle.

  • Helmet
  • Gloves
  • Jacket
  • Pants
  • Boots

These will either save your life, or make your injuries so much less significant in the event of a crash that you’re crazy if you don’t wear them.

I’ve gone down at freeway speeds and am still here to ride and write about motorcycles and I wouldn’t be able to if it wasn’t for proper gear.

At least I'm not worried about my brother, he's geared head to toe.

At least I’m not worried about my brother, he’s geared head to toe.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, New Rider and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Riders: WEAR GEAR

  1. Good write up. We’re obviously on the same page here. I try not to brow beat folks if I can help it, but I think overall it makes riding better. I just wish there was an easier way to get folks over the price and perceived comfort hurdle. I.e. “well, a helmet is so constraining…”

  2. motoventures says:

    If they could imagine themselves taking a horrible trip to the ER and (at the least) living through skin grafts and worse, they would probably not ride without gear! It’s just not worth it.

  3. ccpressnet says:

    AGATT is easy in the cool months. It is hardest even for the hardcore believers to wear full gear in the heat. I pack an extra shirt to change into when I arrive at my destination along with some light shoes. Helps me stay ‘tucked’ in. Good read.

Leave a Reply

