No International Motorcycle Show This Year (for me)

With the winter cold here, and the Holidays in full swing I’m a little at a loss of what to write about. There is only so much to be said about riding back and forth to work in the cold. I’ve also been writing in this blog twice a week or more for almost three years, so I often feel like I’m repeating myself.
One thing I do get to write about every year that I am normally get pretty excited about is the International Motorcycle Show.

Sadly this year I did not get to go because in their infinite wisdom the IMS did not hold it in the Bay Area and instead had it in Sacramento. Now I don’t know the reasons why they moved the show, but there was no way that I was driving two hours to go.

I love going, and I’m quite sad that I couldn’t. It just doesn’t make sense to drive 4-5 hours round trip to spend 4-5 hours at the show. In addition, one of the main reasons I like to go is to take all my friends who are on the fence on riding. I get them to sit on a bunch of motorcycles and say vroom vroom with me. The travel time to get to the show this year makes it  no longer a half day event, it becomes a full day event, with lots of traffic and driving. Not the sort of thing I want to use to sell them on the idea of motorcycles being fun.

I guess I could use all the time we would be stuck in traffic to extol the virtues of lane sharing…

Since I can’t share my experience of this years show I thought I would just share some of my favorite pictures from the last several years.

Someone likes the color green.

Someone likes the color green.

This is the greatest picture taken in the history of motorcycle shows. I forget who was hiding behind my brother to hold up his scarf to have it blowing in the wind. (It might have been me)

This is the greatest picture taken in the history of motorcycle shows. I forget who was hiding behind my brother to hold up his scarf to have it blowing in the wind. (It might have been me)

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling, motorcycle, Motorcycles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No International Motorcycle Show This Year (for me)

  1. Agreed… content is tough to come by this time of year. I’m hoping to catch IMS in Chicago but I’m afraid I’ll miss it this year as well. It’s usually a good show in Cleveland, but we’re booked for family vacation so I want to squeeze in Chicago if I can. I bet it’s really good out west.

Leave a Reply

