Riding in the Winter

There is a saying about the worst day fishing being better than the best day at work… or something like that. It is a universal truth that doing something you like is worth it even when it isn’t at its best. Riding in the winter is like that.

It really isn’t much fun compared to riding basically any other time of the year. Riding the motorcycle is still better than driving in a car, even with the cold and occasional wet I have to deal with.

These past few weeks have been a test of my resolve. It got cold, really cold, into the mid thirties cold. This made my rides to work unpleasant. All it takes however is one really rainy morning and I decide to drive in a moment of weakness. Then I drive the whole way home stuck in the car I hate it. Resolve strengthened, it was cold this morning…

but not that cold.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Riding in the Winter

  1. Yup. That’s pretty much hope it happens. Glad to be among fellow victims of this disease.

  2. motoventures says:

    Excellent post! Although some days are better than others, I have never regretted a day that I have ridden, regardless of the weather!

Leave a Reply

