Shopping for a Helmet

I still haven’t replaced my helmet. I should since it is past it’s suggested “best before” date but I am having problems deciding on what to get.

So here are the options as I see them.

  • Option One: Get a Arai like the one I have now.
  • Option Two: Get a Modular Helmet.
  • Option Three: Get a cheaper helmet to make do for a while.

There might be more options that I’m not thinking of right now, but those seem to be the main contenders in my head. Now for the Pros and Cons

  • Option One Pro: I know it will fit, and I like my helmet. I know it will be quality. Con: Expensive, and won’t be modular.
  • Option Two Pro: Everyone I know who has a modular helmet loves it. The versatility of it appeals and when riding with others it’s nice to be able to chat at short stops without taking off your helmet. Con: Prices are still up there, and I worry about fit since I have a long narrow head.
  • Option Three Pro: Save money now to feel safer. I might end up liking whatever I get. Con: Could end up being a waste of money if I don’t like it.

I’ve written them down now, all my thoughts on what helmet to get, and I’m still not sure what I’m going to do.

I am sure I’ll post up as soon as I do buy and I suspect I’m going to end up getting the Arai. The fit of a helmet is one of if not the most important things to think about when buying a helmet and since I know the Arai fits. With a slightly odd head shape that can be hard to find.

  
 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shopping for a Helmet

  1. I thought about a modular helmet too. But setled on a Shoei NXR because the modular was a lot heavier.

    For me that was a big consideration

  2. John says:

    I got a Bell and love it. Had tow Arai but decided it was time for a change.

  3. Shawn West says:

    I’m using a Bell by default since it is the only one I could find that fit right (xs). So no sagely advice to offer on other types. If you are wanting the modular then I would stick with the old helmet. Prolly just as good as the cheap option so that would cancel out #3. Use the time to test fit modulars while you save up. If none fit then you’ve already got enough for another Arai that does.

  4. Daniel ropers says:

    I have an nexx x1r1 and love how ridiculously light it is. Bad ventilation. Ho-hum sound levels. Pondering about my next helmet, but hard to go back to anything heavier than the nexx (i tried a Schuberth s2 on sale and regretted it. Same sound levels and too heavy. Better construction though. I wished manufacturers gave testers out to big sellers like Revzilla, really hard to know if the helmet is the right one without a good full day ride…. Good luck! PS: the modular Schuberth is on sale with pretty crazy prices…

  5. motoventures says:

    When I can afford it, I will absolutely be getting the Shoei Neotech Black + Hi-Viz. Because I don’t have $650, I am riding with the Scorpion R-710 which I love. I haven’t tried on Scorpion’s modular yet, but based on how good this R-710 is, I would absolutely recommend Scorpion!

Leave a Reply

