Tire Pressure

Last week on the way to work it felt like my tires were really grabbing on to the highway imperfections a lot more than normal. At first I thought I was imagining things, but it happened a lot and I then remembered that the last time I got gas my mileage was lower than normal.

I resolved to check my tire pressure when I got home.

Yikes, the front was fine, but the rear was down to 15 PSI, way too low! I put air in it and looked around for a puncture and did not see one. The next evening however when I got home the pressure was down a bit. I looked over the tire closer this time looking for the root of the problem and found it. What looked like a nail almost dead center of my tire.

Not very big, but enough.

Not very big, but enough.

I continued to ride on it for a couple of days meaning to get to the shop and have it fixed. Unfortunately the Thanksgiving Holiday is the busiest time of year for me and I just couldn’t make it to the shop. So last weekend I just decided I would plug it myself and see how that went.

I'm not a professional.

I’m not a professional. 

After a couple of days it seems to be doing fine. Hopefully it will last until I get it into the shop soon. I’m due for a service anyways.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Motocycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tire Pressure

  1. I picked up a roofing screw a few weeks ago, and like yours, it was dead centre of the rear tire. I did a home job on that but had to get it professionally done a day or so later.
    Turns out the roofing screw made the hole just a bit to big and ragged for the home job kit I have. The professional fix is holding up well though.
    Glad you caught it in time and weren’t stranded some place
    Cheers

  2. motoventures says:

    Glad nothing bad happened with that nail – ride safe!

Leave a Reply

