Leaves: The Danger of Riding in the Fall

People worry about riding in the wet, but if I had to choose between that and a heavily leaf strewn street I’d take the wet.

I generally love Autumn. It’s cooler yes, but the colors and smells of the season are great. It’s too bad those leaves end up on the streets where I might have to ride over them. Riding over leaves is bad because they are slippery, really slippery.

IMG_3473

I’ve been caught out by leaves in a couple of different ways over the years. Most commonly when leaving my parents house and going to push the bike upright off the kickstand, and having my foot slide on leaves. The worst time however was when leaving work and going down an alley that is lined with trees. I was going maybe 15-20 MPH and when adjusting my lane position when coming to a stop sign I ended up low siding. weather this was because of locking up the front, or because my admittedly aggressive swerve I’m not sure, I just know that I was on my ass pretty damn fast and quite surprised by the fact.

So, when you see a pile of leaves, maybe you should remember that diving head long into them is something best left for those on foot.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, motorcycle, Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

