Like a Pheonix: The Birth of the FrankenMonster

My monster has had a long and crazy history. As would any motorcycle with nearly 90,000 miles on it.  It was born out of the disaster that was my “new” ducati 695 engine (that I journeyed to LA in one crazy day to get) and the luck that is the awesome Ducati community.

It was one year ago, that I first rode out of Nichols sportbike in Milpitas, on what I later dubbed the FrankenMonster.

Why call it the FrankenMonster?
Three different engines have contributed to it’s heart. My original 620 engine, the internals and covers from the short lived 695 engine, and the amazingly donated cases from yet another Monster. Even if that wasn’t enough to be FrankenMonster, it has wheels from two different bikes, a dash from yet another Monster, front brakes from an 800 Monster, and countless other minor parts that are no where near original. In fact if I was pressed to name the original parts, the only thing I can swear are original unmodified parts are frame, and swingarm… that’s it.

I still love the bike and it’s been a great year together. Just the other day when I picked it up from the shop my mechanic commented on what a blast the engine was. He’s right, it really is tons of fun.

I didn’t think of it at the time, but the FrankenMonster name is also very appropriate to the day she was brought out into the cold harsh world, it was one year ago today.

On Halloween.

  
 

The FrankenMonster had 42,000 miles on the odometer when we put the hybrid engine in.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in FrankenMonster 695, Life, motorcycle, Motorcycles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

