MotoGear: What’s in my Backpack Everyday

What is it about the “what’s in your bag” thing that is so addictive? I have no idea, but I love looking at the everyday carry/what’s’ in your bag things. I’ve done blogs on this before, talking about what gear I wear, but I thought I should talk about what I have on me every day on my commute.

In my Backpack:

  • USB charger
  • Kindle
  • Mini USB/Kindle Charging cord
  • Visor Cleaner
  • Battery Backup for phone
  • Paperwork (Registration and insurance for Motorcycle)
  • 1 pill bottle with a mix of Advil, Tylenol, and Excedrin
  • SOG multi Tool
  • $10 of emergency Cash
  • Pens
  • Mini Flashlight
Not that much in the backpack.

Not that much in the backpack.

Tail Bag

  • Visor (Tinted or Clear whichever isn’t on the helmet)
  • Gloves (warmer/cooler version of what I’m currently wearing)
  • Lighter (or Heavier) Neck Gaiter
  • Locking Cable for gear
  • Allen wrench tool
  • Dozen Zip Ties
  • Chain Lube
  • Spare Earplugs
  • Kickstand plate
  • Phone Charging Cord
  • Wine Bottle Opener
  • Tire Pressure Gauge
  • Rag
  • Window Cleaner
More in the Tailbag

More in the Tailbag

In addition to all this I carry on my person; my Wallet, Sog Aegis Knife, more earplugs, Headphones, and the phone goes on the bike.

You might think the distribution of stuff between the backpack and tail bag is a little weird, but it really comes down to stuff I might want with me all the time when I go places with out the motorcycle. Plus I try to keep as much weight on the motorcycle and off my back as possible. On the rare occasions I ride with out the tailbag, then of course a lot of this moves into the backpack, and the reverse of course is true as well.

Looking at all of the stuff I carry I was surprised that there isn’t much that I would add for my everyday ride. I probably should have included what is in my tool kit on the bike as well, but as I write this I am nowhere near my bike and can’t remember extactly what is in there. I know there is a small vice grip pliers and an adjustable (crescent) wrench, and I think a screw driver.

I welcome any suggestions or questions about what else I might need or want.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear, Life, Motocycling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MotoGear: What’s in my Backpack Everyday

  1. I’d add a joining link for your chain (assuming you have a chain).
    A puncture repair kit and pump wouldn’t go astray on longer trips too.

  2. motoventures says:

    Great idea – I’ve wanted to put something similar on my blog but just haven’t made the time. I also carry a chapstick (Colorado = high altitude = easily chapped lips), a soft lens cloth (handy for camera, iPhone, glasses, sunglasses, etc), a compact and reusable plastic bag for when I have a honey-do list at the store, and a small pack of tissues (for blowing my nose).

    • MotoCynic says:

      Oh, I have chapstick in a pocket on my suit that I use nearly everyday, completely forgot about that. The lens cloth is a good idea. I work for a grocery store, so I always shop before I go home… and just throw stuff in my backpack =P

Leave a Reply

