The Long Way Home is Broken

On Fridays (and any other day I can manage) I like to leave work a little early and take the extra time to take the long way home. It is a great way to end the week and a fantastic start to the weekend. I’ve written ad nauseam about my long way home ride so I won’t say anything more about the specifics of the route. Except to note that it uses Hwy 35 aka Skyline Rd.

I'd hate me too if I knew this was how I rode home.

I’d hate me too if I knew this was how I rode home.

Now the “Long Way Home” is broken. The last two Fridays I’ve taken it home and there has been construction. The first time I just took an alternate route since I was already running late. The second I waited for the pilot car and completed it, but the road is gravely and the wait for the pilot car is long. Making it not the best fun route home right now. I’m really happy that they are repaving Highway 35. Yay!  It is definitely past time for this to be done.

The crappy thing is that my long way home sucks until they finish. Boo!

Sadly it looks like it might be another couple of weeks or more until they are completely finished. Which means the number of times I’ll be able to enjoy my long way home before the rains come might be over for the year.

Hopefully they do a good job and it will mean even more glorious riding in the spring of next year.

 

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Life, Motocycling, Riding and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Long Way Home is Broken

  1. Ry Austin says:

    So, the short way home sucks, and the long way home is broken… Have you looked to see if there’s a longER way home? 🙂

  2. motoventures says:

    I was just going to say what Ry already posted! Perhaps a longer route can be found….but I bet you’re counting the days until you can tear up that new asphalt!

Leave a Reply

