New Phone: So Many Accesories

I decided to finally replace my aging iPhone 4s. The lure of newer faster phone, a much better camera and much more memory was too much to ignore. There was much deliberation as to what phone to get to replace it with and I won’t bore you with the hows and why (or even what phone I chose.) The crux of the matter is that I was somewhat surprised by how many accessories I needed to get so that my motorcycling with the phone remained relatively unchanged.

To start I have become used to having my phone on my bars, so I can easily check directions from the GPS, adjust the volume of my music, and (much to the dismay of some) read the occasional text message. The last phone mount I used was phone specific, obviously this doesn’t work for the long term, or at least not for the very long term since I will probably replace my phone in the next five years at least once. To this end I picked up a RAM mount which was recommended to me by a reader and comes highly rated elsewhere.

Works good so far.

Works good so far.

I also needed a new case. I decided to break from my well loved and used Lifeproof case and try an Otterbox for a while. It was a bit cheaper and I thought I would give it a try and see what I think. I suspect the lack of waterproofing will send me back into the arms of Lifeproof, but they don’t make one for my phone yet so we’ll see how the Otterbox holds up until then.

Not as hardy as the Lifeproof, but hopefully will do as well as protecting it from me...

Not as hardy as the Lifeproof, but hopefully will do as well as protecting it from me…

After all that I thought I was done. Until I left go ride home that evening, and realized that I would need a charging cable for the bike. So I went back and picked up another braided rope heavy duty cable, since it seemed to be holding up well so far.

Quite a process, so many things for what was already a tough decision. At least next time the Ram Mount should not need replacing.

About MotoCynic

I started riding motorcycles in 2006, and there is no going back. I've ridden more than 100,000 miles, most of it on a Ducati Monster, and despite setbacks and murderous BMW's I'm loving every mile.
This entry was posted in Gear, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Phone: So Many Accesories

  1. Pingback: A Phone Story | Motorcycles and the Cynic

Leave a Reply

